Joan Terr Ronis Memorial Recital Winners Announced

Please join us in congratulating the winners of the 2020-21 Joan Terr Ronis Annual Memorial Recital Prize, Dana D’Orlando, oboe and Allison Siekmann, violin.

Dana and Allison earned this honor by demonstrating exceptional musicianship in their recent spring jury auditions. As co-winners of the prize, both students will receive a monetary award and be honored at the undergraduate awards ceremony in the spring of 2021. And more importantly, should conditions permit, Dana and Allison will jointly perform the Ronis Memorial Recital in October 2020 (date TBA). If conditions do not allow an in-person recital at that time, we will explore other options to showcase their wonderful talents.

Dana D’Orlando, oboe (left) is a junior at CWRU, double majoring in biology and music. Throughout her musical career she has participated in various ensembles and organizations.¹ Dana serves as president of CWRU’s Music Therapy Club. After graduation she plans to continue her education in graduate school with hopes of pursuing a career in research. Dana would like to thank her applied instructor, Cynthia Watson (CIM), for all of her support and words of encouragement that have helped her grow into a stronger musician.

Allison Siekmann, violin (right) is a third-year music education major at CWRU who studies with Stephen Sims (CIM). She has previously performed in all state orchestras and participated in several chamber organizations.² Beyond performing, Allison has a passion for music education and was awarded the Pat Ciricillo Music Education Scholarship. She serves as president of CWRU’s chapter of the Ohio Collegiate Music Educators Association and is a member of Mu Phi Epsilon Phi Omicron, through which she teaches private lessons at the Joyful Noise Music School. Allison enjoys volunteering her time by playing with her string quartet for organizations such as the Ronald McDonald House and the Maryssa’s Mission Foundation.

Thank you to all of our competitors:
– Joshua Adams, trombone (Paul Ferguson)
– Iara Al-Schamma, cello (Bryan Dumm)
– Liz Allgeier, horn (Meghan Guegold)
– Ryan Buechele, trumpet (Loren Toplitz)
– Sam Chaffee, piano (Sean Schulze)
– Will Friedland, horn (Meghan Guegold)
– Olivia Laniak, voice (Denise Howell)
– Alex Lenahrt, trumpet (Loren Toplitz)
– Sharon Li, pop vocals (Joan Ellison)
– Aditya Mahesh, saxophone (Greg Banaszak)
– Hannah Messenger, horn (Meghan Guegold)
– Timothy Orlando, violin (Carol Ruzicka)
– Caleb Owens, piano (Gerardo Teissonnière)
– Nicholas Pogharian, trombone (Paul Ferguson)
– Andrew Smeader, violin (Stephen Sims)
– Harue Suzuki, flute (Heidi Ruby-Kushious)
– Venice Villescas, flute (Heidi Ruby-Kushious)
– Jakob Wegmueller, trombone (Paul Ferguson)

About the Recital
Leonard Ronis established the Joan Terr Ronis Recital Prize in 1996 as a memorial to his wife, the well-known Cleveland piano soloist, chamber music artist and teacher. The prize and recital are presented after a competition held each spring among undergraduate music students attending CWRU. Mr. Ronis, a lifelong supporter of CWRU and the arts, was nationally known for his role in public transit. With his passing on July 4, 2012, the family requested that the prize be renamed the Leonard and Joan Terr Ronis Memorial Recital Prize. The prize returned to its original name during the summer of 2020.

Previous winners include
2019-20 | Diane Jo, violin and Karen Ji, piano
2018-19 | Devin Reddy, horn and Jason Linn, trombone
2017-18 | William Spallino, trombone and Madeline Yankell, soprano
2016-17 | Rebecca Pfeiffer, trumpet and Vincenzo Volpe, flute
2015-16 | Ryan Rose, saxophone and Ruolin Yang, violin
2014-15 | Sydney Vereb, flute and Jeff Einhaus, tuba
2013-14 | Lok Lei, violin and Nicholas Valentas, percussion
2012-13 | Frankie Delgado, bassoon and Nathan Budge, euphonium
2011-12 | Francis Blackman, voice and Dora Wu, violin
2010-11 | Alyssa Hoffert, saxophone
2009-10 | Karl Beheim, clarinet


¹Erie County Music Educators Association ensembles, Area All State ensembles, NYS Conference All State symphonic band, Greater Buffalo Youth Orchestra, the American Legion Band of the Tonawandas, and Ohio Private College Instrumental Conductors Association.
²Cincinnati Symphony Youth Orchestra Philharmonic, Ohio All State Orchestra, Green Mountain Chamber Music Festival, and Cincinnati Young Artists Chamber Music Festival.