Recapping CWRU’s Impressive Presence at the Annual Meeting of the American Musicological Society

The CWRU Department of Music had a large and impressive presence at the annual meeting of the American Musicological Society, which took place last Thursday through Sunday in Louisville. Daniel Goldmark chaired the Program Committee, which put was charged with putting together the entire programming for the conference. Professors Georgia Cowart, Daniel Goldmark and  David J. Rothenberg each chaired a session during the meeting.
Three members of the Department of Music were honored at the society’s awards ceremony on Saturday evening:
  • Susan McClary (Professor) was awarded Honorary Membership in the society. This is the highest honor of the AMS, reserved for the most senior of scholars “who have made outstanding contributions to furthering its stated object and whom the Society wishes to honor.”
  • Brian MacGilvray (5th-year PhD student) was awarded an Alvin H. Johnson AMS 50 Dissertation Fellowship, a competitive fellowship that provides funding for the final year of dissertation work. This is the most prestigious and competitive dissertation fellowship in the field of musicology. 
  • John Romey (5th-year PhD student) received a grant from the William Holmes/Frank D’Accone Endowment for travel and research in the history of opera.
In addition to the sessions chaired by CWRU faculty, two faculty members and seven graduate students from the musicology program presented papers:
  • Francesca Brittan (Assistant Professor): “The Electrician, the Magician, and the Nervous Conductor”
  • Susan McClary (Professor): “Kaija Saariaho and Peter Sellars: Staging Feminism”
  • Brian F. Wright (3rd-year PhD student): “‘A Bastard Instrument’: The Electric Bass, Jazz, and the Stigmatization of Musical Practice”
  • Michael Bane (6th-year PhD student), “The Art of Singing Well: Bertrand de Bacilly and Amateur Performance Practice in Seventeenth-Century France”
  • Peter Graff (3rd-year PhD student), “Portal to the Orient: Lobby Spectacles and The Thief of Bagdad”
  • John Romey (5th-year PhD student), “Bellérophon in Vaudevilles: Appropriation of Street Culture by the Comédie-Italienne”
  • Devin Burke (PhD expected December 2015; just appointed Assitant Professor at University of Louisville), “The Veiled Art of Musical Adaptation: Jean-Philippe Rameau and Le Triomphe des arts (1700)”
  • Daniel Batchelder (4th-year PhD student), “With a Smile and a Song: Audiovisual Synchronization in Disney’s Early Animation”
  • Mandy Smith (5th-year PhD student) gave a presentation as part of the panel “Getting ‘Into the Groove’: Teaching Students How to Listen to Temporality in Popular Music”
Congratulations to all involved!