McClary named as Honorary Member of the American Musicological Society

Photo by Mike Sands courtesy of Art/Sci

Photo by Mike Sands courtesy of Art/Sci

Congratulations to faculty member Susan McClary, who was named an Honorary Member of the American Musicological Society at the Society’s Annual Meeting in Louisville. Honorary members of the AMS are those scholars “who have made outstanding contributions to furthering its stated object and whom the Society wishes to honor.” The award is the highest honor of the AMS, reserved for the most senior of scholars. 

The award presentation for Professor McClary included the following commendation:

“The Board and Council wish to honor you for your wide-ranging and important scholarly writings. Your early articles on Schubert and Beethoven and your books Feminine Endings: Music, Gender, and Sexuality and George Bizet: Carmen challenged and changed the study of musicology in terms of its approach to gender, sexuality, and subjectivity. You also broke new ground in your writings on mode, madrigal, and Madonna, and your publications have inspired and continue to inspire new and forward-looking musicological work across the field. We also wish to recognize your dedicated service to the Society as a member of the AMS Council, Alvin H. Johnson-AMS 50 Fellowship Committee, Kinkeldey Award Committee, and Publications Committee; and also your extended service as a member and Chair of the Board of Directors of the American Council of Learned Societies.”

The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 as a non-profit organization to advance “research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship.” In 1951 the Society became a constituent member of the American Council of Learned Societies. At present, 3,300 individual members and 1,200 institutional subscribers from forty nations are on the rolls of the Society.

Read more about the CWRU presence at the AMS annual meeting here.